To catch a University

I blogged a little while ago (as part of my seemingly endless notes about the UCISA 2013 Conference) about a rather enigmatic poster presentation that was near ours showing off a new PC Finder/availability service that a University had launched. I’d had an interesting conversation with the rep from the University (mostly with the – confessed – aim of stealing ideas for a similar system my team are working on) and grabbed a business card.

But when it came time to write it all up, I could find neither the business card, nor the details of the University behind the poster. All I had to go on was the little bit of the yellow poster visible in the top-left of this photo of the Surrey delegation talking to folks about our posters:

The Surrey team answering poster questions

The Surrey team answering poster questions – the offending poster is just in the top-left

I’d had a brief Google and ask around about it at the time and eventually gave up, but I suddenly felt compelled to have a proper dig on Wednesday night. To start off I spent a lot of time browsing through blue UK University logos on Google, though nothing leapt out at me.

Blue logo browsing makes me blue

Blue logo browsing makes me blue

Then I remembered that Google’s image search works both ways, so I cut out the logo and used the Google image search!

Fuzzy

Fuzzy

The results were discouraging, to say the least.Then I enlarged the tiny (35px x 15px!) logo and fiddled with the contrast and brightness to try make it more “blocky” and less “fuzzy”. Sadly that didn’t help me much either, but it gave me an idea. I powered up my secret weapon – MS Paint! I painstakingly put together an approximation of the logo based on what I could see on the photo and what I’d expect the logo detail to look like and stuck this into Google Image Search:

Reason I should never be a graphic designer #44

Reason I should never be a graphic designer #44

And there, part way down the page, we had a winner:

Looks just the same as mine, right? ;)

Looks just the same as mine, right? 😉

A quick browse through the RHUL website later and I found my prize!

Leave a Reply

